Father Theo’s Christmas Playlist

Posted on December 25, 2011

4


Frankly, I grew tired of most Christmas songs a long time ago.  The overkill started setting in for me in 1961 or thereabouts, and the majority I’d prefer to never hear again.

But I will, I will, unless–during the ever-extending Christmas season–I avoid every store and mall in the land until the day I die.

While the majority of Christmas chestnuts deserve to be roasted over an open fire, there are a few I still like, songs and performances which retain enough pure feeling or irony to overcome my general distaste for the genre.  The saucy Eartha Kitt gives us a notable example and leads the way.

The Moonglows – Hey, Santa Claus

Ini Kamoze – All I Want for Christmas

Angelique Kidjo – Zan Vevede

Sonny Boy Williamson – Santa Claus

Berrogüetto – Nadal de Luintra

Beausoleil – Christmas Bayou

Lil’ Ed & the Blues Imperials – I’m Your Santa

John Prine – Christmas in Prison [live]

Cesaria Evora – Hoje e Natal [live]

Black Ace – Christmas Time Blues

Joni Mitchell – River [live]

Willie Nelson – Pretty Paper [live]

Happy Birthday, Merry Christmas & Happy New Year – Loretta Lynn

Jose Feliciano – Feliz Navidad

Louis Armstrong – Zat You, Santa Claus?

Kidnap the Sandy Claws (from The Nightmare Before Christmas)

Arlo Guthrie – The Pause of Mr. Claus (dedicated to the FBI)

Chuck Berry – Run Rudolph Run

Aretha Franklin – Blue Holiday

Ray Charles – Merry Christmas, Baby

John Lennon – Happy Xmas (War Is Over)

Tracy Chapman – O Holy Night [live]

Posted in: music