An Informed Conservative is a … Liberal?

Posted on August 22, 2009

1


It is interesting what you read in the news sometimes.  I wish I saved the reference, but I imagine the information can be tracked down if you look hard enough.

I read an article in the New York Times, or maybe the Washington Post, on the issue of the “liberal-leading media.”   Conservative voices are always complaining about them, implying that conservative views are not well represented by the media.  Writers and intellectuals like Noam Chomsky disagree, and say that the contrary is more likely true.  I tend to agree with Chomsky, but then I would, wouldn’t I?

But that has nothing to do with my point.  One thing the article did was study the influence of left- and right-leaning media (as these terms are defined in the US) on people’s thinking.  People were given either a conservative or liberal leaning newspaper to read for a month or two, and then were surveyed on some current issues where conservative and liberals tended to differ.

The result?  It was found that people who informed themselves on issues through newspaper reading, no matter whether that newspaper was perceived as liberal- or conservative-leaning, tended to shift towards the liberal opinion.

That is, an informed conservative is a liberal. Even when the information comes from conservative sources.

I always thought conservatives were more or less ignorant.  Now I see that this ignorance is necessary in order for them to retain their conservative views.

No wonder conservatives hate funding education

Posted in: politics