The Cashu Nova Story, Part I – Before Success

Posted on July 13, 2008

0


 

Hollywood. Metrosexual has been with us for a while now, which, in case you have been living in a cave, refers to the practice of some men to dress gay even though they aren’t. Particularly.

Of course somebody was eventually going to come up with a fashion answer to the metrosexual trend more definitive than sweatpants and muscle Ts. After all that look is already classic. Now the super-hot fashion house of Cashū Nova of Hollywood has finally made a breakthrough with their new line of “bundle pants” which is creating a great deal of industry buzz. Word is Cashū Nova might be in the forefront of a whole new direction for fashion. And it all began with a dip in the ocean off the Oregon coast.

But this is a story far too interesting to start in the middle.

“Oh, no, we’re not going to go into that?” said Emmaline Gladden, Business Manager and Chief of Design at Cashū Nova, and wife of fashion house CEO Axel Gladden. She and her husband were interviewed together recently at their fashionable clifftop, oceanview southern California home.

“People should at least hear it from us first,” said Axel. And he proceeded to tell the story of how it was before “bundle pants”, before Cashū Nova became the hottest new fashion house on Sunset Strip, when the Gladdens were still struggling to find the breakthrough idea which would make them known and establish them in the Hollywood fashion industry.

“The idea I was working with originally,” said Axel, “didn’t play out, really, the way I expected it to.”

“No, it didn’t,” said his wife, dryly. “There was the neighbour with the baseball bat, for instance.”

“He said he was on his way to batting practice,” said Axel.

“And you believed him.”

“No, I didn’t believe him. I was pretty sure he didn’t play baseball,” said Axel. “But I did consider that I had to add personal security costs into my business plan when I went to see the bank.”

“Yes, Axel still decided to go to the bank.”

“The appointment was already scheduled. Anyway it was you….”

“I admit that it was me that told Nance,” said Mrs. Gladden, holding up her hands and laughing. “Nance was our next door neighbour at that time, and Axel had worked up a line of paternity clothes. I mean, it was his idea, but I made up the prototypes.”

“I know,” Axel said, looking rueful. “Paternity clothes. What could I have been thinking? But you know, the time just seemed ripe for it. Men were being sensitive. They were going to Lamaze classes in order to participate in the birth process. They were willing—okay, this was the argument I was making, the concept—men were willing to share the birthing experience, so why not the pregnancy experience? You heard it all the time, you know, women who loved being pregnant, but hated being fat. I thought, well, what if women didn’t have to do it alone?”

“Axel says that you have to pay attention to the zeitgeist,” said Emmaline.

“Fashion is in the moment. Who said that?” asked Axel.

Emmaline didn’t know.

“Anyway, in fashion, you have to be bold,” continued Axel. “You have to take chances. The fashion industry is not for sissies. I think Emmaline would agree.”

“I wouldn’t put it exactly that way, though.”

“My paternity line was a bold step. Nobody says the House of Cashū Nova does not take chances. We had a Mr. 3 Months, a Mr. 4 Months , a Mr. 5 Months, all the way up to Mr. Nine Months. Incorporating all the latest print styles, modern cuts and fabrics, subtle manly accessories, you know what I mean. But the basic idea is that as the mother’s belly grows, so does the father’s.”

“Tell him about the enlarged breasts option,” added Emmaline.

“Well, that’s part of it, isn’t it?” asked Axel. “The whole pregnancy experience. The belly grows, the breasts swell.”

“What about leaking…?”

“That part was optional,” Axel said. “The enlarged breasts. We weren’t sure how it fitted in. We considered that not everyone would want it.”

“Oh god, I was laughing so hard,” says Emmaline, taking over the story, “that I had to tell Nance. You know, she lived next door. Oh, I know it was an industry secret, and I wasn’t supposed to tell anybody, but I just couldn’t hold it in. I swore Nance to secrecy. And she went straight to her husband and told him. Well, not just told him. You know, I thought she was the sweetest little thing. I mean, I didn’t know she was so sarcastic. She must have been really teasing her husband about his belly.”

Axel continued, “And that’s how he happened to come over with his baseball bat, the night before our appointment at the bank. He said to me that if he got called Mr. 5 Months one more time….”

“Nance was being unfair,” said Emmaline, mischievously. “I don’t think he was more than Mr. 3 Months, or Mr. 4 Months Petite.”

“We were a little shaken up, I admit” said Axel, “but we still decided to make our scheduled appointment at the bank. It was the banker who changed our minds.”

“Without saying a word.”

“He didn’t get a chance to say a word except hello. You realize that that was the first time that we had actually met our banker. We had been dealing with his junior up till then. And then we walk into his office, and there reaching out to shake my hand is Mr. 7 Months in the flesh! Our banker was Mr. 7 Months.”

“And he had decided in favour of the breast option, as well,” added Mrs. Gladden.

“I realized then,” said Axel, “that I was reading the zeitgeist all wrong.”

“Axel nearly fainted. Yes, and you can see why my husband wanted to make sure you heard this whole story,” said Mrs. Gladden. “There are parts of it, which, if they got into malicious hands, could be exaggerated beyond all reason.”

“I finally gave up on the plan. I almost felt like giving up on everything, I must admit. Emmaline and I went up the Oregon coast to take a vacation. And regroup.”

And regroup they did.

But that is a story for Part II.